Following Joy

This year has been transformative for me. A dream of mine of yearning to be an artist has come true! I’m still sort of stunned and amazed.

IMG_1011-0.JPG

It started with people believing in me. Well, maybe it started with me believing in me. Believing it was worthwhile to go ahead and draw and color flowers and birds. My first cheerleader was my husband Mark, who began to give me positive feedback on my emerging style. That felt nice. 🌺

Then I got courageous enough last winter to take my first art class since 8th grade (when I was shamed by the jr high school teacher for “not being good at art”) . My teacher last January was Lynn Whipple (pictured above with me), a nationally acclaimed mixed media artist. She has the most generous spirit, happy heart and an very encouraging, playful and helpful teaching style.

Making art has made me incredibly happy! I found a part of myself that I had always wanted to be- artful and creative. It’s pretty incredible.

I am sharing this, as a way to say thanks to Lynn and as a way to encourage you to follow your dreams. Just last month, I entered my work into a show and sold 3 pieces of art–I had never even imagined that, but it happened!

My colleague, LifeArt Studio coach, Lezlie Laws, wrote a beautiful post about witnessing my transformation. She asked me how I was able to do this (finally make art) and submit it for a show, and I told her “I followed my joy.” Joy was my guide. Flowers and birds and art have always given me immense joy. I finally found my way to follow what my heart yearned for.

So I want I encourage you to do the same. But first, answer this: what gives you joy? What makes your heart sing? Do you know? If you’re not sure, that’s ok- you can find out. What helps is paying attention to what you’re drawn to that gives you positive energy, to what makes you smile and feel glad in your heart that you are alive.

For me, that is making art and being in nature. So, I’m taking another art class with Lynn Whipple and her pal Carla Sonheim, another fantastic artist and art teacher. They are teaching an online class for 2015 called The Year of The Spark – you can join in if you want! It’s going to be super fun ❗️😃

About HeidiBehr, LCSW

I'm a Licensed Clinical Social Worker, a Certified Addictions Professional, a Spiritual Teacher, a counselor, coach, and workshop leader. I've been at this gig for almost 30 years and I love what I do- it's so amazing to help people learn to love themselves and feel happier leading the lives they have always wanted. When I am not at work, I'm probably doing yoga, gardening, hanging out with family & friends, making art. Namaste!
This entry was posted in Following your heart and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment